Skip to content

Huawei P9 Lite 2017 / Nova Lite (PRA-LX3) Review in Spanish.

Huawei P9 Lite 2017 / Nova Lite (PRA-LX3) Review in Spanish.

I have been using the Huawei P9 Lite 2017 (S / .999 free) – or also known as the Huawei Nova Lite (in North America), or even even as the P8 Lite 2017 (in Asia and Europe) – in these last two weeks as the main phone.

It is a mid-range team from Huawei that maintains a design similar to the P9 (that's why the name of the team), but which is aimed at a different audience, more interested in obtaining a team with reasonable performance, capable of running apps without problems, than the public to whom high-end phones are usually directed, where themes like camera, equipment design, and screen are paramount.

In fact, despite the fact that in the first instance the Huawei P9 Lite has similar features to those of the P9 (and it also inherits a look quite similar to the brand's Nova Plus; its smartphone aimed at the mid-premium range), the Huawei P9 Lite does not have a dual rear camera.

Technical Characteristics

Features
Huawei P9 Lite 2017

CPU Kirin 655 Octa Core
screen 5.2 Full Hd
Camera 13 MP f / 2.0
Memory 3 GBs of RAM
Storage 16 GBs, expandable via MicroSD
Battery 3,000 mAh
Android 7.0

The box of the Huawei P9 Lite comes with the usual; We have the phone itself (the model of the review was white), along with a cable and charger (micro USB an, does not have USB-C). We also have no fast charge of any kind on this phone for its 3,000 mAh battery. The box also comes with a pair of headphones. And something that I love about Huawei lately? Than Inside the box, we have a protective case for the back of the phone. Huawei knows how valuable (and fragile) our phones are today, so I think it's great that we protect them as soon as we take them out of the box; We don't have to run to a store and fear for the life of the phone.

The Full HD screen is almost identical to what the P9 (the high-end model) had. We have a 5.2-inch Full HD panel that manages to be very bright (and quite readable) in the sun, reaching 500 nits. The color quality and viewing angles are also good in the Huawei P9 Lite 2017. But this can also be seen in the P9 Lite last year.

But what is the main difference between this P9 Lite 2017 / Nova Lite with the original P9 Lite?

The highlight of this upgrade is a better processor with higher performance, and more RAM available to the user. In place of last year's Kirin 650, here is the Kirin 655. The apps run smoothly and laglessly, and the phone's performance is pretty smooth.

Something that happened to me a lot with the P8 Lite (and a bit with the previous P9 Lite), is that the phone overheated quickly. This I did not experience with the P9 Lite 2017 so immediately. Yes, after a few games of Hearthstone, or a couple of rounds in heavy games, the game will heat up, but it is not as usual as in previous models.

RAM, on the other hand, helps a lot with multi-tasking of the equipment. The P9 Lite 2017 brings the EMUI 5.0 interface, a modification of Android 7.0, which makes the consumption of resources greater than other phones that usually use a purer Android (such as Motorola, for example). But this is compensated by 1 Gigabyte more of RAM than what we see in its closest rival, the Moto G5.

One aspect that disappointed me is that we only have 16 GBs (approximately 8 available for the user). 16 GBs is extremely limiting today, where apps have been inflated in size. We can alleviate our media files a bit to an SD card, but the P9 Lite 2017 does not offer adoptable storage, the possibility of converting a MicroSD card into internal memory, so managing the available free space can be a problem. theme. But this is due to my typical use of Android. If you come from a 16 GB phone, or have realized that the 32 GB of your phones are left over, take this into account.

The 3,000 mAh battery behaved quite well, lasting an average of one day of normal use (it arrived with 10-20% at 9 at night). Heavy use requires an intermediate charge in the afternoon for the phone to stay active. It is an improvement over the P9 Lite / P8 Lite – where the battery was a weak point – but the issue is that rivals have improved a lot in this regard. Even lower range phones, like the Moto E4 Plus I'm testing now, offer better battery life than this phone. The Huawei P9 Lite 2017 will not disappoint, but they will not find a great improvement in this regard either.

See also

Where the Huawei P9 Lite 2017 surprised me, it was in the photographic subject. I think it is the best camera I have seen in this price range; even photos in dark places, or macro photos, turned out pretty well. Daytime and well-lit photos can rival what we can get with the high-end, but most low-end phones just can't compete with the high-end. I'm happy to tell you that Huawei has improved the camera, with fast focus and good image quality – as long as we keep still. For the range, the camera seemed very good to me. Unfortunately, the photos that I had as samples were lost with the USB that I use to transfer them.

Huawei P9 Lite 2017 vs P9 Lite

The P9 Lite 2017 offers slight improvements in performance and memory compared to last year's P9 Lite. Nor will we find many changes in the team's design. But I did notice improvements in battery and phone camera. Enough reason to update? It depends how much you value these sections; Personally, the original P9 Lite still seems like a good phone to me, so if you already have the older model, there aren't many reasons to upgrade. If, on the other hand, they didn't renew equipment a couple of years ago, or come from the original P8 Lite, or a lower range, the P9 Lite is an excellent alternative for the price.

Are you looking for high-end? Here the P10

https://67.205.129.107/huawei-p10-analisis-en-espanol/